2017 - HoF PLUS - Fokus auf brandaktuelle Themen der Branche

HoF PLUS

Film also involves discussions of and about films. With HoF PLUS, the 51st Hof International Film Festival is giving a special focus to hot topics within the industry and presenting, in addition to its already well-established Club Talks, quite a few interesting events in this new program.

The kick off of this new series will take place on Wednesday afternoon, 25 October 2017 with a discussion entitled NO PAY, BUT DELICIOUS CATERING – Acting Engagements in University and Debut Films, hosted by the Federal Drama Association.

On Thursday, 26 October 2017 it will be all about digitalization in the film world, including distribution. Against this backdrop, terminology of transactional business like TVOD, EST, and SVOD will be defined and discussed, and the portal INDIEswitch will be introduced. Digitalization also offers new possibilities in production as well. ARRI Media will take us to VIRTUAL WORLDS. Two testing stations will allow the viewer to experience Virtual and Augmented Reality up close and personally.

On Friday afternoon, 27 October 2017, a top-level panel entitled RAIDERS OF THE LOST AUDIENCE will discuss topics in film distribution and exploitation. The discussion will not only revolve around the question as to why some festival films don’t make it to cinemas, but will also consider alternative marketing means. A highly topical issue.

Cinema lives more than ever. This is proven first and foremost of course with the films we have selected for this year’s Hof International Film Festival. HoF PLUS addresses issues which are, to a certain extent, still quite controversial. But that is HoF. We are keeping our eyes peeled, looking into the future and searching for solutions. It’s going to be exciting!Thorsten Schaumann

  • Booklet

    HoF PLUS – Interesting events (PDF)

  • Schedule

    HoF PLUS – All dates and times (PDF)

An overview of the events:

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

NO PAY, BUT DELICIOUS CATERING – Acting Engagements in University and Debut Films
14:30 – 16:30 h, Panel discussion, Fabrikhalle HofTex

Members of the podium will include: Simone Wagner (Federal Drama Association), Bernhard F. Störkmann (Federal Drama Association), Christian Knie (director), Ulrich Aselmann (die film), Stephen Sikder (Dream Team) and Julia Bezzenberger (Agents’ Association). The panel will be moderated by Urs Spörri (Kultur Event).

The participants will discuss the consequences of the introduction of the Miminum Wage Act in 2015, whereby acting contracts for university films were significantly ammended, replacing the word salary with unsalaried.

Thursday, 26 October 2017

INDIEswitch – the VOD portal alongside cinemas
11:00 – 12:30, Round table, Café Rossini – for accredited professionals only

Concepts of transactional business, such as TVOD, EST, and SVOD, which are often used, but not always consistently, will be defined and discussed. Jürgen Fabritius and his colleagues Jochen Kröhne and Michael Bischoff will introduce the VOD portal INDIEswitch, which will go online in December 2017.

ARRI – ABDUCTION TO VIRTUAL WORLDS
Fabrikhalle HofTex
11:00 – 14:30 Live Experience: two VR and AR testing stations
14:30 – 15:30 Virtual Worlds – A presentation with practical examples
15:30 – 17:00 Live Experience: two VR and AR testing stations

Ozan Saltuk, Junior Unity Programmer at ARRI Media, will give a talk about the topic and demonstrate practical examples of Virtual and Augmented Reality.

Friday, 27 October 2017

RAIDERS OF THE LOST AUDIENCE
14:30 – 16:00, Panel discussion, Fabrikhalle HofTex

Panel guests include: Andreas Arnstedt (director and producer, Questionmark Entertainment), Andreas Rothbauer (Picture Tree International), Fabian Wolfart (Pantaflix), Christian Pfeil (Arena Filmtheater), Christoph Ott (NFP marketing & distribution), Dr. Klaus Schaefer (FFF Bayern). Alfred Holighaus (SPIO President) will moderate the event.

Issues to be discussed include: Why successful festival films sometimes do not make it into cinemas, how can alternative strategies entice viewers into cinemas to see films beyond the mainstream, and how digital platforms can in fact be an interesting way to attract viewers.

2017 - HoF PLUS - Fokus auf brandaktuelle Themen der Branche

HoF PLUS

Film bedeutet immer auch Diskussion um und über den Film. Mit HoF PLUS legen die 51. Internationalen Hofer Filmtage in diesem Jahr einen besonderen Fokus auf brandaktuelle Themen der Branche und stellen neben den bereits etablierten Club-Gesprächen mit Kreativen viel Spannendes, Interessantes und zu Entdeckendes bei diesem neuen Rahmenprogramm vor.

Den Auftakt macht am Mittwochnachmittag, 25.10.2017 der Bundesverband Schauspiel mit dem Thema KEINE GAGE, DAFÜR LECKERS CATERING – Schauspiel-Engagements in Hochschul- und Debütfilmen.

Donnerstag, 26.10.2017 steht ganz im Zeichen der Digitalisierung in der Filmwelt. Dabei geht es zum einen um die Distribution. Vor diesem Hintergrund werden Begriffe des transaktionalen Geschäftes wie TVOD, EST, SVOD erläutert wie auch das Portal INDIEswitch – DAS VOD PORTAL AN DER SEITE DER KINOS vorgestellt. Zum anderen bietet die Digitalität neue Möglichkeiten in der Produktion. So entführt uns ARRI MEDIA GmbH in VIRTUELLE WELTEN. An zwei Ausprobierstationen kann der Zuschauer einen Tag Virtual und Augmented Reality hautnah erleben.

Am Freitagnachmittag, 27.10.2017 diskutiert ein hochkarätig besetztes Panel unter dem Titel JÄGER DES VERLORENEN ZUSCHAUERS Themen rund um Filmverleih und -auswertung. Es geht nicht nur darum, warum erfolgreiche Festivalfilme nicht den Weg ins Kino finden, sondern auch um die Frage nach alternativen Wegen der Vermarktung. Ein sehr aktuelles Thema.

„Kino lebt mehr denn je. In erster Linie sind das selbstverständlich die Filme, die wir für die diesjährigen Hofer Filmtage ausgewählt haben. Zusätzlich greifen wir mit HoF PLUS Themen auf, die in Teilen sehr kontrovers diskutiert werden. Aber das ist HoF. Wir machen die Augen auf, schauen in die Zukunft und suchen nach Lösungen. Das wird spannend!“ Thorsten Schaumann

Die Veranstaltungen im Überblick:

Mittwoch 25.10.2017

KEINE GAGE, DAFÜR LECKERES CATERING – Schauspiel-Engagements in Hochschul- und Debütfilmen
14.30 – ca. 16.30 Uhr Paneldiskussion – Fabrikhalle HofTex

Auf dem Podium sitzen u.a. Simone Wagner, Bundesverband Schauspiel, Bernhard F. Störkmann, Bundesverband Schauspiel, Christian Knie, Regisseur, Ulrich Aselmann, die film, Stephen Sikder, Dream Team sowie Julia Bezzenberger, Verband der Agenturen. Die Moderation liegt bei Tania Carlin.

Die Teilnehmer werden sich mit den Folgen der Einführung des Mindestlohngesetzes im Jahr 2015, in dem in den Schauspiel-Verträgen für Hochschulfilme das Wort Gage durch das Wort Ehrenamt ersetzt wurde, befassen.

Donnerstag 26.10.2017

INDIEswitch – das VOD Portal an der Seite der Kinos
11.00 bis ca. 12.30 Uhr Gesprächsrunde – Café Rossini – Veranstaltung für akkreditierte Fachbesucher

Begriffe des transaktionalen Geschäftes werden diskutiert sowie Begriffe wie TVOD, EST, SVOD erläutert, die immer wieder fallen und nicht wirklich einheitlich verwendet werden. Gleichzeitig werden Jürgen Fabritius und seine Kollegen Jochen Kröhne sowie Michael Bischoff „INDIEswitch – das VOD Portal an der Seite der Kinos“ vorstellen, das im Dezember 2017 online geht.

ARRI – ENTFÜHRUNG IN VIRTUELLE WELTEN
Fabrikhalle HofTex
11.00 – 14.30 Uhr Hautnah erleben: Zwei VR und AR Ausprobierstationen
14.30 – ca. 15.30 Uhr Virtuelle Welten – ein Vortrag mit Praxisbeispielen
15.30 – ca. 17.00 Uhr Hautnah erleben: Zwei VR und AR Ausprobierstationen

Ozan Saltuk, Junior Unity Programmierer von ARRI Media GmbH, referiert über das Thema und demonstriert an Praxisbeispielen Virtual und Augmented Reality.

Freitag 27.10.2017

JÄGER DES VERLORENEN ZUSCHAUERS
14.30 – ca. 16.00 Uhr Paneldiskussion – Fabrikhalle HofTex

Panel mit den Gästen: Andreas Arnstedt, Regisseur und Produzent Questionmark Entertainment, Andreas Rothbauer, Picture Tree, Fabian Wolfart, Pantaflix, Christian Pfeil, Arena Filmtheaterbetriebs GmbH, Christoph Ott, NFP marketing und distribution GmbH, Dr. Klaus Schaefer, FFF Bayern. Die Moderation hat Alfred Holighaus, Präsident der SPIO übernommen.

Es werden Fragen diskutiert, warum erfolgreiche Festivalfilme nicht den Weg ins Kino finden, wie durch alternative Strategien dem Zuschauer Anreiz geschafft werden können, Filme abseits vom Mainstream im Kino zu sehen, und wie digitale Abrufplattformen einen durchaus interessanten Weg zum Zuschauer bilden könnten.