SANDSTERN

SANDSTERN

SANDSTERN

Director: Yilmaz Arslan
Feature film | D | 2017
89 min | Dolby 5.1

Screenings:
115 | Wed. | 21:30 | Central
723 | Thu. | 13:00 | Scala
835 | Fri. | 22:45 | Regina

The summer of 1980: after years of separation, 12-year-old Oktay reunites with his parents who are living in Germany. He didn’t spend his childhood with them, but rather with his grandmother in Turkey. But the belated family reunion is under tension. Oktay doesn’t like his new life, he cannot seem to find a connection to his parents nor to this country which is to be his new home. He finds friendship and comfort in a fellow pupil of his age, Tina, who introduces Oktay to her Italian family, and in 75-year-old Anna who stands by his side with good food and worldly wisdom.

But this doesn’t make his everyday existence any easier. Oktay has to learn to stand on his own two feet and deal with life’s punches at a very early age. And then one thing leads to another: After an intense fight, Oktay’s parents separate. Anna dies unexpectedly. And shortly thereafter, Oktay’s mother is arrested before his very eyes.

When he is placed in a boarding school for physically handicapped children, he has to get accustomed to a new situation all over again and try to find his way in a new world. Looking for warmth and affection in his new home, he finds it in the mysterious paraplegic Israeli named Luba and in his roommate Thomas, an understanding fellow sufferer. It is here that he meets caring people and makes friends who give him the courage to face life.

SANDSTERN

SANDSTERN

SANDSTERN

Regie: Yilmaz Arslan
Spielfilm | D | 2017
Farbe | 89 min
Dolby 5.1 | dt., türk., ital. OF m. dt. UT

Vorstellungen:
115 | MI | 21:30 Uhr | Central
723 | DO | 13:00 Uhr | Scala
835 | FR | 22:45 Uhr | Regina

Sommer 1980: Der 12-jährige Oktay trifft seine in Deutschland lebenden Eltern nach Jahren der Trennung wieder. Seine Kindheit hat er nicht bei ihnen, sondern bei seiner Oma in der Türkei verbracht. Die verspätete Familienzusammenführung steht unter Spannung. Oktay mag sein neues Leben nicht, er findet keinen Zugang zu seinen Eltern und auch nicht zu diesem Land, das seine neue Heimat sein soll. Freundschaft und Trost findet er bei der gleichaltrigen Mitschülerin Tina, die Oktay in ihre italienische Familie einführt, und bei der 75-jährigen Anna, die ihm mit gutem Essen und Lebensweisheiten zur Seite steht.

Doch einfacher wird sein Alltag dadurch nicht wirklich, früh muss Oktay auf eigenen Beinen stehen und mit den Plänen klarkommen, die das Leben für ihn bereit hält. Und dann kommt es Schlag auf Schlag: Nach einem heftigen Streit trennen sich Oktays Eltern. Unerwartet verstirbt Anna. Und kurz darauf wird Oktays Mutter vor seinen Augen verhaftet.

Als er daraufhin in einem Internat für körperbehinderte Kinder untergebracht wird, muss er sich neu auf etwas einlassen, Zugang finden zu einer ihm fremden Welt. Er sucht Wärme und Zuneigung in seiner neuen Heimat, und er findet sie sowohl in der geheimnisvollen querschnittsgelähmten Israelin Luba als auch bei seinem Zimmernachbarn Thomas, einem verständnisvollen Leidensgenossen. So lernt er liebevolle Menschen und Freunde kennen, die ihm den Zugang erleichtern und seinen Lebensmut stärken.